Watermelon color study

I painted this alongside two new students.  I use it as a color study to explain my color theory (Henry Hensche school) to start masses in light with a warm color, and anything in shade with a cool color. It was a quick 8×10.

One Response to “Watermelon color study”

  1. love that you used color to turn the plane on this melon. I painted a canteloupe recently and did the same thing even though I was cautioned by an expert that you can’t use color to turn a plane. Hah! Love your work, but then I’m a colorist , too!

Leave a Reply

